Home > Work, Eat, Drink, Play > My Cheap Stand Up Desk

My Cheap Stand Up Desk

I blogged the other day about my desire for a stand up desk and my plans to re-create the budget model recommended here by blogger Dawn Foster.  She was able to piece her desk together for around $20; mine was double that but I’m still pleased.  The pic below shows how I arranged the shelves so I can easily place one foot at a time on the bottom shelf, which reduces fatigue and helps me stand for longer periods.

I’ve been using the desk for a couple of days and really enjoy being able to have my computer in the kitchen while cooking or looking out my backdoor during my coffee and email time.  It’s not the most attractive piece of office furniture but it works.  It especially adheres to our family condition since I quit work and entered school–if it’s not ghetto, we don’t own it.

My $40 Standing Desk

  1. November 20, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    I’m happy you found my cheap stand up desk design useful 🙂

  2. John
    July 28, 2012 at 11:52 am

    Hello, how did you make this? Where did you buy the things to construct this out of? I would like to make one too but with bluetooth keyboard and mouse on the lower plane.

    • July 30, 2012 at 10:27 pm

      I found the metal stand at Bed Bath and Beyond. It’s just a simple kitchen rack, I believe Target sells them now. The racks are unassembled and therefore a bit easy to customize.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

